The Arrival

Hey guys!

So, today, I thought I would tell you a little bit about my upcoming novel, The Arrival (The Visitors, Book One)!

So, basically, it’s about this sixteen-year-old kid named Charlie Freeman. He’s at home one day, when he sees on the TV that a giant spaceship has appeared over the White House. The ship sits there, and does nothing. Seemingly no contact is made. Then, a couple days later, the ship disappears. Moments later, six-and-a-half billion people disappear into thin air. Now, Charlie, and his cousin Alex are trying to stay alive. These strange creatures start appearing out of nowhere. They have super-strength, and are almost impossible to kill. Their sole purpose is to kill anybody who was left behind. To make things even more complicated, Charlie and Alex meet a girl named Sarah, who is doing everything that she can to get to DC to be reunited with her little brother who was also left behind. Now Charlie, Alex, and Sarah are having to travel from Boston to Washington DC, while at the same time avoiding these strange creatures. But, they soon find out that the creatures are the least of their problems.

Yeah! That’s what The Arrival is about! I’m super excited about it. I’m 25,000 words into it right now, and I hope to have it done, edited, and published by March or April. It’s going to be an awesome book, and I hope you guys will enjoy it! As you can see, it is also book one in a series. I’m not sure how long the series is going to be. It might be a trilogy, but as I write, I am realizing that this is much bigger than I expected, so it might have to be a series of four books.

That’s all I got for you right now! I just thought that I would let you guys know what the book is about, so when I talk about it in a blog post, or a tweet, or something, you guys would know what I was talking about!

My next post is going to be some actual tips about writing, and not me running my mouth about my book!

Peace!
Logan Rutherford

P.S. Please Tweet, and Facebook (or whatever it is you kids now-a days do) my blog! I’d mucho appreciate it-o!

  1. I love it when a story becomes unexpected…..it makes it even more fun to write.

    • Me too! At times, it feels like I’m reading the novel, instead of writing it, because it just takes on a life if its own!

      • Exactly. Right now I’m doing a read through of my novel, from beginning to end, and I have to remind myself I’m editing so I have to look out for mistakes and what not instead of being absorbed into the story.

        It’s cool of all you’ve done. I though I was doing good at my age, 19, but you’re younger. Just amazing. Keep at it.

        Loving your series so far, check out my review for Runner http://www.paranormalsisters.blogspot.com/2012/02/review-runner.html

      • I know exactly what you mean! It’s so hard for me not to get absorbed. When I read books, I usually get so absorbed into it, I almost never notice any editing mistakes. That’s why I’m such a terrible self-editor. Hahaha!

        Your review of Runner was SO awesome! I always love hearing what people think about my stories, especially when it’s good! 😛

        Let me know when you’re finished with your novel. I’d love to read it!

      • Thanks for loving my review for Runner. It’ll be fun letting you read it once I finish. However, by the time it is finish you may not remeber about me.

        Anyways, I don’t know how you feel about werewolves and vamps (they’re the old fashion ones who are blood lust, not the twinkly kind) haha.

        Plus, I loved the little excerpt for your book The Arrival at the end of Rescued. Can’t wait till you finish it. 🙂

      • I don’t mind the blood lust ones! The twinkly ones…not so much.

        I can’t wait to finish The Arrival either! I completely re-wrote it, though. So that scene at the end of Rescued is totally different now.

  1. February 18th, 2012

Leave a Reply

