The Intruders: Behind the Story

Hey guys,

This is a fun little post that I’ve been wanting to write for a while now. I figured that since The Intruders has been out for a month, now would be an appropriate time to write it. Basically, I’m going to fill you in on a fun bit of trivia/facts about The Intruders.

The Intruders was originally a book called Codename: Apocalypse. It was called that because I didn’t really have a name for it, so I just gave it a codename. It was about a group of kids living in the Royal Bank (the bank at the end of The Intruders is a homage to it), and they had to travel from the bank to Washington D.C., whilst fighting against some super smart zombies. Many things that were in C:A are in The Intruders:

  • The kids meeting up with Celeste and Eko (originally named Chelsea and Chelsea’s boyfriend).
  • The zombies (Grimms) being super-smart. Although, the zombies in C:A could talk.
  • Charlie was the name of the right-hand man to the main character, Michael. Chelsea was the right-hand man before Charlie, but then I made her the leader of group B, before changing her name and not making her a leader at all.
  • The kids having to travel to the White House.

That’s pretty much it.

I started writing C:A before The Runners, and it was going to be split up into chunks, before I came up with the idea about the kid who was chasing himself.

I came up with the idea about the mass-abduction because I was trying to think of a way to have the book start before the zombies came. I couldn’t think of a plausible way to make the world a desolate wasteland in the matter of a few days, so then I came up with the idea of the Visitors. From there, my imagination took off, and the story-arc of the Visitors trilogy was formed.

I know the titles of all three books.

I took me 2-3 months to write the first half, and 2-3 weeks to write the second.

I can now write around 5-7 thousand words a day. That really has nothing to do with the book.

I made tons of covers for the book.

Alright, that’s all I can think of. I hope you guys enjoyed! Let me know if you wanna see me do one about The Runners.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

